the 1970’s, the Gladewater Historical Society
began collecting articles and preparing to publish the history
of Gladewater. Two books, Gladewater, Texas 1873-1973 and Gladewater,
Texas Bicentennial Edition 1976, told the story of Gladewater
and the courageous families who settled the area. Many of the
exhibits in the museum are based on the information and pictures
found in these books.
The Gladewater Historical Society was chartered as a non-profit
educational association in 1987 to preserve and interpret the
history of the Gladewater area. At this time, the large floor-to-ceiling
cabinets that are now used for exhibit space were purchased.
The story is told that these cabinets were installed in Day
Drug during the1920’s. Since the Historical Society had
no building, these huge cabinets were stored in several locations
before coming home to 116 W. Pacific. Eventually the name of
the society was changed to Gladewater Museum Association.
museum is now located in the building known as the Ellen Bauman
Community Building. It was built in 1939 during the Art Deco
Period. Doc Shepperd was the Gregg County Commissioner at the
time of the building’s completion. The building
was used for county offices and a library downstairs. The second
floor was used by various community organizations for meetings
and social gatherings. The library moved to a new home in 1973.
Since that time, the building has been used by various community
The unique design of the building makes it an ideal home for
a museum that tells the rich history of the city and the people
who built it. On Friday, November 4, 2005, The East Texas Museum
at Gladewater held a ribbon cutting officially opening the
museum. On Saturday, November 5 th at 10:00 a.m., the museum
finally opened to the public. It is now open on Saturdays from
10:00 until 4:00, except for the last two weeks of the year—depending
on the holidays. At present, the museum is totally staffed
The grand opening featured the “James G. Hineman Collection” which
includes one of the largest collections of rooster memorabilia.
Other Hineman collections include a large variety of cigarette
memorabilia, an outstanding representation of wash boards,
oil lamps and lanterns and vintage music.
Friday November 4, 2005, The Gladewater Museum
held a Ribbon Cutting officially opening the museum. On
Saturday, November 5th at 10:00 am the museum
was finally opened to the public. It is now open on
Saturdays from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm., except for the last
two weeks of the year depending upon when the holidays fall. At
present, the museum if totally staffed with volunteers.
grand opening featured the ‘James G Hineman Collection’ which
includes the World’s largest collection of Rooster
related memorabilia. The collections also includes
a large variety of Cigarette Memorabilia, an outstanding
representation of wash boards, Oil Lamps and Lanterns, some
of which are still on display in the museum.
Hineman was born Jan 29, 1922 in Longview, TX. He was
a veteran of World War II and the Korean War. After
World War II he returned to East Texas to complete his higher
education. He taught art in Dallas while working on
his master’s degree. Then he taught art at Longview
High School for 26 years. Many of his students won state
contests and several have become art teachers. He enjoyed
antiques and gave several collections to museums. Mr.
Hineman passed away on Saturday, August 14, 2004.